Our Carrollton, Texas Teen Driving School has after school pickups for it’s 4:15 to 6:15 p.m class. Drive Smart provides FREE after school pickup and delivery from The Colony High School, R.L. Turner, Newman Smith, Creekview, Harmony and Hebron High.
Drive Smart prices are the best in the area and there is no hidden charges. Many school charge additional amounts for scheduling, testing and even handbooks. At Drive Smart, our students get all of the services at one great price!
One the many reasons that Drive Smart Driving School is different from others is that others driving schools schools either do not offer this service at all or charge additional.
The student will be picked up at school delivered to Drive Smart for class, and be ready for parent pickup after 6:15 p.m. (were open until 8:30 and have a student lounge in cases where the parent needs more time for after class pickup).
We Also offer 6:30 to 8:30 pm Monday thru Thursday classes (we cannot pick up for these) for those that need to attend a little later in the day.
You can check out our Teen schedule to see class dates and times Teen Class Schedule
For classes offered during the school year, summer, and holidays, we will help you work around your needs and schedules. If students need certain days off, we can arrange makeup or alternating schedules.
**Tip: If you are planning drivers ed, be sure to get your v.o.e.(verification of enrollment) from your high school attendance councilor. Normally a v.o.e. is valid 30 days. The Texas Department of Public Safety needs this document to issue a teen a learners permit or drivers license. It is not required by Drive Smart for enrollment.
To register and pay online for a class Register Here Or come by our office. Questions? Call (972) 446-2200.
When pricing other schools please take into consideration hidden charges. A lot of driver education schools charge additional for books, tests and road testing. At Drive Smart all of our prices include everything from the class, driving, even the road test.
Getting Your Texas Learner License
Once you complete 3 days of the classroom phase of Driver’s Ed, it’s time to take the written exam to get your learner license. You will do this at Drive Smart Driving School.
You must apply for your TX learner’s permit in person. You can save yourself some time by making an appointment online. If you’re under 18 years old, you must bring your parent(s) or legal guardian to sign off on paperwork.
When you visit your local Texas DPS office, you’ll need to:
- Provide proof of identity and lawful U.S. presence (e.g. unexpired U.S. passport, Certificate of Citizenship or Naturalization, original or certified birth certificate).
- 2 documents proving residency (e.g. Texas high school transcript or report card, medical or health card, paycheck).
- The Texas DPS website provides a complete list of residency documents.
- Proof of Social Security number (e.g. Social Security card, health insurance card, pay-stub with name and SSN).
- The Texas DPS provides a list of acceptable identity documents.
- Bring a completed Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) or a high school diploma or GED.
- Submit a completed Application for Driver License or Identification Card (Form DL-14A) with your parent/guardian’s signature of consent.
- Provide the following driver education forms that apply to you:
- A Texas Driver Education Certificate (Form DE-964) issued to students at Drive Smart Driving School who complete the first three days, are paid in full and pass the permit exam.
- Pay the $16 learner license fee.
Drivers License/Provisional License
Once you have held your learner’s permit for 6 months, and you’ve completed your 30 hours of behind-the-wheel training, all of your scheduled classes and have reached 16 years old, it’s time to make a trip to the DPS and take your driving test. Successfully pass this test and Phase Two, with your solo license, begins. Prior to testing, all teens must watch a video called ITTD and print out a certificate of completion. the video and registration can be found at https://impacttexasteendrivers.dps.texas.gov/
- Q: Is ITTD part of the 32 classroom hours of Driver Education required to complete prior to taking the skills (behind the wheel) examination?
A: ITTD is a separate requirement and must be completed no more than 90 days prior to the applicant taking the skills examination. ITTD should be completed after the 32 classroom hours and all behind the wheel instruction has been given and is the last step before taking the driving skills examination.
- Q: Who is required to take ITTD?
A: Any applicant who has taken a Teen Driver Education Course (32 hours classroom/44 hours behind the wheel), issued a DE-964, and is scheduled to take a drive test September 1, 2015 and beyond is required to view the ITTD program and receive a completion certificate before the drive test will be administered. The certificate must be dated within 90 days of the drive test.Applicants ages 18-24 who have been issued an ADE-1317 showing completion of Adult Driver Education (6 hours classroom) are not required to take ITTD at this time.
Restricted Driving with an Intermediate License
With your Intermediate License, you can now drive solo without supervision, but there are a few restrictions:
- You can’t drive between midnight and 5 a.m.
- You can’t have more than 1 passenger under 21 years old who is not a family member.
- You can have no wireless communication, hands-free or not, unless it is an emergency.
Once you turn 18 years old, the state GDL restrictions will be lifted. Your Texas driver’s license will be marked “provisional” until you turn 18 years old.